Avoid Dropping Classes
Before you drop out, talk about your situation with a counselor in Advising & Career Services (299-8614). Consider remaining enrolled in one or two courses, rather than dropping all your classes, until you know how things will work out.
Limits on dropped classes
Section 51.907 of the Texas Education Code, enacted by the state of Texas during spring 2007, applies to students who enroll in a public institution of higher education as a first time freshman in fall 2007 or later.
Based on this law, MCC or any other Texas Public institution of higher education may not permit a student to drop more than six courses during their undergraduate career. All courses dropped after the census date are included in the six-course limit unless (1) the student withdraws from all courses or (2) the drop is an approved drop exemption.
If you’re affected by this law and plan to attend another institution of higher education, you should become familiar with that institution’s policies on dropping courses.
Dropping or Changing Classes during Registration Periods
Make class changes by clicking on "Add Classes" or "Drop Classes" from the WebAdvisor for Students menu.
Dropping from a Class during the Semester
Students who are considering withdrawing from a course are to contact one of the following, preferably in the order listed: instructor, program director, division chair or advisor. If, after consultation between the student and the instructor, there is a decision to withdraw through the 60 percent point in the semester or term, it is the responsibility of the student to see that the Change in Schedule Form is completed and submitted to Highlander Central. (The instructor can also process a withdrawal from a course through WebAdvisor.) The student should check WebAdvisor to verify that the withdrawal was processed.
If, after the 60 percent point in the semester or term and after consultation between the student and the instructor, there is a decision to withdraw, it is the responsibility of the instructor to submit the Change in Schedule Form to Highlander Central or process a withdrawal through WebAdvisor as soon as possible or prior to the last class day of a semester or term. The student should check WebAdvisor to verify the withdrawal was processed. The effective date for withdrawing from a course is the date the withdrawal is processed.
Withdrawing from the College
In case of emergency where the student must withdraw from the college, the student may request withdrawal by one of the following, preferably in the order listed: 1) instructors 2) Highlander Central or Office of Student Records or 3) advisor.
Withdrawal from college requires the return of all college-owned property and payment of all outstanding debts. Official transcripts will be issued only after all obligations to the College have been met.
Paying for Dropped Classes
If you receive financial assistance, you should contact the Office of Financial Aid before withdrawing from a class or the college to determine exactly how your financial aid will be affected by the reduction of hours.
If you have a scholarship or have both applied for and are expecting financial aid (Pell grant or loans) and you decide not to attend classes, you must drop your classes through WebAdvisor before the first class day of a semester or term to avoid losing the scholarship or having to pay back the financial aid.
If you drop on or after the first day of a semester or term, your tuition and fees will be charged to your scholarship or financial aid or you will be responsible for paying for your tuition and fees.
If you drop or are dropped before you have completed 60 percent of the semester (10 weeks into the fall semester or three weeks into the summer semester) or if you are dropped for non-attendance during the entire semester, federal law requires that you repay part of your financial aid.
Refunds for Dropped Classes
When a student in a credit course withdraws from the college or drops a course, tuition and mandatory fees will be refunded according to this policy:
- Prior to first class day—100 percent refund
- During first and second class days—70 percent refund
- No refund on or after the third class day
- Prior to first class day—100 percent
- During first five class days—70 percent
- During sixth and seventh class days—25 percent
- No refund after the seventh class day
Fall & Spring Semester
- Prior to first class day—100 percent
- During first 15 class days—70 percent
- During 16th-20th class days—25 percent
- No refund after the 20th class day
For information about the refund policy for flexible-entry classes, call the Business Office at 299-8627.
NOTE: The term “class day” refers to the number of calendar days classes have been in session. “Mandatory fees” include General Services Fee, Facilities Fee, and Lab Fees. “Optional fees” are non-refundable.
Tuition refunds apply only to that portion of a student’s semester hour enrollment for which tuition has been charged and payment received. Tuition and fees paid directly to the college by a sponsor, donor or scholarship will be refunded to the source, rather than directly to the student.